-A A +A


Created in 2004, the UNESCO Creative Cities Network brings together 116 cities from 54 countries working towards a common goal: to make culture and creativity a driving force for sustainable development and urban regeneration.

10th Annual Meeting - Ostersund Sweden

Divided into seven categories (cinema, literature, design, music, crafts and folk art, gastronomy and the media arts), UNESCO’s Creative Cities also support active cooperation at the international level. The network includes some of the world’s biggest supercities, such as Beijing, Seoul, Sydney, Singapore and Montreal.

By joining the Network, the cities commit to sharing their best practices and developing partnerships with the public sector, the private sector and civil society to:

  • strengthen the creation, production, distribution and dissemination of cultural activities, goods and services;
  • develop hubs of creativity and innovation and broaden opportunities for creators and professionals in the cultural sector;
  • improve access to and participation in cultural life, in particular for marginalized or vulnerable groups and individuals;
  • fully integrate culture and creativity into sustainable development plans.

Areas of action

The Member Cities cooperate together in the following areas:

  • Sharing experiences, knowledge and best practices;
  • Pilot projects, partnerships and initiatives associating the public and private sectors and civil society;
  • Professional and artistic exchange programmes and networks;
  • Studies, research and evaluations on the experience of Creative Cities;
  • Policies and measures for sustainable urban development;
  • Communication and awareness activities.